Carrie Larson – Grief in Five Volumes – SOLD

© 2016
edition of 1
dimensions in inches: 6.5 x 18 x 9

about this piece

About this piece:
Particularly in the realm of grief, we can find ourselves at a loss for words. To further this wordless expression, (excepting each volume’s typewritten title, which offers a “lens” through which to view each book), I developed “Grief in Five Volumes” to offer content without text, instead employing purely visual language to suggest ideas, sensation, and emotion. One widely accepted model for how we deal with grief, postulated by psychiatrist Elisabeth Kübler-Ross, suggests five stages in the grieving process: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. For this piece each stage has its own book form, where explorations around what that stage might encompass are presented conceptually and symbolically through the use of color, imagery, binding techniques and construction. The custom box that houses the volumes becomes a way of containing those emotions, while allowing the viewer to experience “Grief” to the degree that she chooses.

(Colophon plaque printed by Harbor Awards)
wood, brass, paper, colored pencil, thread, ribbon, bullet residue
About the artist:

lives in Hoquiam, Washington, United States

Carrie, a visual artist based in Hoquiam, Washington, was introduced to Book Arts as a means of expression during her education at Whitman College. This foundation continues to influence the entirety of her art practice, while residencies at Hypatia-in-the-Woods and Sitka Center for Art & Ecology have generously provided time and space to explore and experiment. Her work has been included in “500 Handmade Books, Volume 2” and is in the collections of Baylor, Indiana, and Yale Universities.

About Alicia Bailey


Carrie Larson – Grief in Five Volumes – SOLD